FreePgs.com Forum
October 25, 2021, 07:05:36 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Donate to FreePgs.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FTP Access  (Read 5527 times)
kstratton
Non-Verified Account
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6

Blog entries (0)

View Profile
« on: May 10, 2006, 01:06:13 PM »

I use IE to FTP usually.  I haven't registered my own domain name, and was just using my default one (http://www.freepgs.com/username)  Do I need to go somewhere to set up a username or password to FTP?  When I try to access ftp.frepgs.com or ftp.frepgs.com/username I get a error message saying annonymous logins are not allowed, but it won't pop up the usual username/password dialog box.

Also:
I tried to create a database on my account and used the same characters for the username and password, which caused an error.  I tried to change the password, but it tells me that my database name is already in use.  If I view my databases however, it is not listed.
Logged
kstratton
Non-Verified Account
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6

Blog entries (0)

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2006, 03:29:44 PM »

Disregard the FTP thing, I'll just use a program for now (other than IE).  If someone could figure out how to fix my database though, I'd appreciate it ^^;
Logged
FreePgs.com Forum
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2006, 03:29:44 PM »

 Logged
brainiac744
Verified Account
Sr. Member
*

Karma: +10/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 403

Blog entries (0)

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2006, 04:06:11 PM »

For IE FTP: When you get the error about anonymous logins just click the File menu and click "Login As" and you'll get the username/password box

For the database: Pick a different database name, somebody else on the server is probably using the database name that you're trying to create Smiley
Logged
kstratton
Non-Verified Account
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6

Blog entries (0)

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2006, 07:56:57 PM »

Thanks!  Didn't know IE let you do that.

and crap, cause I've got tons of files that all have that db name stored in them ^^;; 
Now if only I could VIEW the files that I'm uploading T.T
Logged
FreePgs.com Forum
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2006, 07:56:57 PM »

 Logged
kstratton
Non-Verified Account
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6

Blog entries (0)

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2006, 11:35:32 PM »

Actually...shouldn't database names be unique for each user?  Don't really know a lot about it, but I'd think that'd be the case...
Logged
sixthcrusifix
Sage
Verified Account
Sr. Member
*

Karma: +0/-3
Offline Offline

Posts: 445


http://sixthcrusifix.com/home/

Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2006, 07:04:39 AM »

Actually...shouldn't database names be unique for each user?  Don't really know a lot about it, but I'd think that'd be the case...

they're SUPPOSED to be but I remember one time me and some dude hd databases with teh same name and tehy got crossed together and I was viewing all his data. The best policy is to start all names with "username_". Smiley
Logged

Visite me website at http://www.sixthcrusifix.com
brainiac744
Verified Account
Sr. Member
*

Karma: +10/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 403

Blog entries (0)

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2006, 04:04:08 PM »

Actually, not really. Everybody is using the same mysql server, so if you get that error it means that somebody else has already used that db name. (In other words, pick a different one). Indeed, username_ is the best way to go.

That error was hopefully a one time thing too...I remember it.
Logged
admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +30/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 1567

Blog entries (0)

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2006, 07:05:52 PM »

Each database username and database name must be unique.

The only databases all users could view were those that started with "test_".  (This was later changed).

Do not use "test_" as the start of a database name as this defaults to allow global read access for testing purposes any time MySQL is upgraded.

Thank you,
FreePgs.com Admin
Logged
sixthcrusifix
Sage
Verified Account
Sr. Member
*

Karma: +0/-3
Offline Offline

Posts: 445


http://sixthcrusifix.com/home/

Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2006, 07:58:15 PM »

Actually, not really. Everybody is using the same mysql server, so if you get that error it means that somebody else has already used that db name. (In other words, pick a different one). Indeed, username_ is the best way to go.

That error was hopefully a one time thing too...I remember it.

Well what happened is that I had a DB called "DATA" for like 2 years. And all the sudden when I went to look at my files, every once in a while I'd try to refresh and I'd see somone elses files, and I was actualy able to go into his forum's posts and edit them through PHP MyAdmin. I told freepgs and the guy about it but I decided just to use my username and that fixed it.
Logged

Visite me website at http://www.sixthcrusifix.com
admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +30/-2
Offline Offline

Posts: 1567

Blog entries (0)

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2006, 12:12:11 PM »

Again, this was because the other user had used "test_" in his database name.

At that time, any database created that started with "test_" was allowed access by anyone.  Your database was not accessible to this other user.  (This is no longer the case)

Thank you,
FreePgs.com Admin
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!