FreePgs.com Forum
September 22, 2021, 04:32:01 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Click Here for Toll-Free Service for your business starting at $2.00 per month and 4.5 cents per minute
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: CSS  (Read 51249 times)
geminigeek
Verified Account
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 20

Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #30 on: May 05, 2006, 01:30:48 PM »

ttry this in ur css
Code:
#bottom p.footer {
font-size: 10px;
}

and make sure it is at the bottom most of your css
« Last Edit: May 05, 2006, 01:33:28 PM by geminigeek » Logged
Evilsprouts
Verified Account
Full Member
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 243


Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #31 on: May 05, 2006, 01:37:04 PM »

ttry this in ur css
Code:
#bottom p.footer {
font-size: 10px;
}

and make sure it is at the bottom most of your css


Fantastic thanks allot  Grin Grin Grin
« Last Edit: May 05, 2006, 02:36:44 PM by Evilsprouts » Logged
FreePgs.com Forum
« Reply #31 on: May 05, 2006, 01:37:04 PM »

 Logged
hypnoticvibe
Non-Verified Account
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 78


Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #32 on: May 05, 2006, 04:32:51 PM »

ttry this in ur css
Code:
#bottom p.footer {
font-size: 10px;
}

and make sure it is at the bottom most of your css


Fantastic thanks allot  Grin Grin Grin
I'm sorry, what was the point of specifying a font family in the first place if that's all you wanted? You also asked about the size of the table.
The CSS that you used in the first place works - Test this out:
Code:
<style type="text/css">
.test {font: normal 10px Verdana, sans-serif;}
</style>
<div class="test">
testing font out
</div>
This means that your font was not the size you wanted it because of the way it was being called (which is why I asked you to post the HTML).
I'm not trying to nitpick but please, help me to help you. Post only the code relevant to your question (HTML and CSS) and don't throw an entire stylesheet at the viewer. You can't expect them to look at your entire source either. I really really don't want to come off being rude and I sincerely intend no offense. These are all things I have done on other forums in the past myself.

Again, I hope I didn't come off rude. Here's what someone said to me when I did that:
Quote
Before even looking what was wrong with the page, I wanted to reply, saying: "Open the file in your favorite text editor, press CTRL+A, press backspace and then press CTRL+S." But I won't say that.

As for the problem...
LOL

Btw, nice website.  Grin Quite funny.

PS... DO NOT specify the font-size in pt. I assumed you had all the ID calls set up properly (and didn't know what document type you had either) and was just playing guess-and-check.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2006, 05:34:55 PM by hypnoticvibe » Logged

Evilsprouts
Verified Account
Full Member
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 243


Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #33 on: May 06, 2006, 04:06:04 AM »

Ok thanks, the reason I posted the whole style sheet is because I didnít know if the font wasnít working properly because it mite have been conflicting with something else in the file.

But thanks you were all a great help!!!
Logged
FreePgs.com Forum
« Reply #33 on: May 06, 2006, 04:06:04 AM »

 Logged
Evilsprouts
Verified Account
Full Member
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 243


Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #34 on: May 06, 2006, 04:16:00 AM »

Please could you help me with something else??? If you see the footer with the copyright and stuff at the bottom of this page www.evilsprouts.co.uk/update well itís positioned using this:

Code:
#bottom{
position: absolute;
height: 50px;
width: 770px;
left: 90px;
top: 625px;}


But if the content in the page goes past 625px it over laps the footer rather than the footer moving with the content how could I fix this please?
Logged
hypnoticvibe
Non-Verified Account
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 78


Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #35 on: May 06, 2006, 02:31:09 PM »

Wouldn't you just move them both the same distance downward? You can't position just one table and both tables move. Correct me if I misunderstood your inquiry.

As far as layering goes, you can add one of these to an ID/class...
Code:
z-index: 1;
Code:
z-index: 2;
Code:
z-index: 3;
and it keeps going up. The higher the number, the closer the layer is to you (in other words, the layer with the highest number will be on top).
« Last Edit: May 06, 2006, 02:33:42 PM by hypnoticvibe » Logged

Evilsprouts
Verified Account
Full Member
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 243


Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #36 on: May 06, 2006, 04:54:19 PM »

Basically when the content area of the page has lots of stuff in it it over laps the footer but what I want is for the footer to always be at the very bottom of all the content. Iím sorry Iím not all that good at explaining things.
Logged
hypnoticvibe
Non-Verified Account
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 78


Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #37 on: May 07, 2006, 03:25:26 AM »

Well, if the table stretches taller, it's not going to push the footer down automatically. You can make the main content scrollable by adding:
Code:
overflow:auto;
and that will solve your problem (although many people would argue that having a scrollbar is evil)
I think that's your best bet if you don't want to keep repositioning the individual tables through CSS every time you make a change to the content.
Logged

Evilsprouts
Verified Account
Full Member
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 243


Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #38 on: May 07, 2006, 08:12:38 AM »

Ahh cool thanks.

Another problem lol sorry, Iím using the <hr> tag to separate things on the pages and Iím styling this with my css

Code:
hr{
width: 570px;
color: #FFFFFF;
background-color: #FFFFFF;}

www.evilsprouts.co.uk/update

I understand that IE uses the color attribute and FF uses background-color how ever the lines are set at their default colour in FF but they are white as they are supposed to be in IE, any ideas please?
Logged
dest
1337 hax0r
Verified Account
Full Member
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 130


Yar

Blog entries (0)

View Profile
« Reply #39 on: May 07, 2006, 10:52:54 AM »

FF might not allow coloring the hr, for some reason.

Try making a single pixel image, and stretching it.  Use that as an hr.
Or make a div, and color it.
Logged

meh Tongue
hypnoticvibe
Non-Verified Account
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 78


Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #40 on: May 07, 2006, 06:33:33 PM »

I could be wrong but I think the answer is:
HERE
Sorry, I generally don't send people a link to a tutorial but to be honest, I never heard of the HR element until you posted that. It made me wonder what the HR element was and I did a search. I just thought I'd share the result.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2006, 06:37:12 PM by hypnoticvibe » Logged

Evilsprouts
Verified Account
Full Member
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 243


Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #41 on: May 08, 2006, 05:29:39 AM »

I also came across this tutorial but it doesnít work Sad
Logged
Evilsprouts
Verified Account
Full Member
*

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 243


Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #42 on: May 08, 2006, 04:31:53 PM »

Well, if the table stretches taller, it's not going to push the footer down automatically. You can make the main content scrollable by adding:
Code:
overflow:auto;
and that will solve your problem (although many people would argue that having a scrollbar is evil)
I think that's your best bet if you don't want to keep repositioning the individual tables through CSS every time you make a change to the content.
I figured it out
Code:
height: resize;
with a bit of tweaking to the arrangement of the divs.
Logged
sixthcrusifix
Sage
Verified Account
Sr. Member
*

Karma: +0/-3
Offline Offline

Posts: 445


http://sixthcrusifix.com/home/

Blog entries (0)

View Profile WWW
« Reply #43 on: May 09, 2006, 12:30:32 AM »

ttry this in ur css
Code:
#bottom p.footer {
font-size: 10px;
}

and make sure it is at the bottom most of your css


Fantastic thanks allot  Grin Grin Grin

A LOT, 2 words, one L. Sorry but that's a pet peve of mine.

Why should you never use pt?  I never do but what is the reason not to?
Logged

Visite me website at http://www.sixthcrusifix.com
brainiac744
Verified Account
Sr. Member
*

Karma: +10/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 403

Blog entries (0)

View Profile
« Reply #44 on: May 09, 2006, 04:23:25 PM »

Why should you never use pt?  I never do but what is the reason not to?

I can't think of a reason not to. PT just stands for points and it's a perfectly valid option to use, just like px, in, cm, mm, or a number of other acceptable units Smiley
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!